My China girl- modernization at a price

Over the years, I met this little girl with the pensive eyes several times. She lived in the shantytown where I also shot the photos of the migrant’s home and the hairdresser. Every time she posed willingly, but she was rarely inclined to endorse me with a smile. In one of our last meetings, she told me she had started school. A smile was almost lurking in the corner of her lips.

The last time I came to visit, her home had been demolished to free the way of modern China. I hope it comes soon, and that SHE is in it…

Girl in shantytown Suzhou

Absorbing the unknown. Suzhou, China-2010.

 

4 thoughts on “My China girl- modernization at a price

Leave a Reply

